Guest Post – C.S. Dorsey “The Unsacred Gift”

Unsacred GiftA fellow novelist, C.S. Dorsey, shares how she first came to decide to write her novel, The Unsacred Gift, and how some of her character evolved.  I believe (and could be totally wrong) that it is an young adult, paranormal thriller.  What I thought was kind of cool about it, was that it deals with a young girl, haunted by the loss of her sister, and suffering from dreams of things to come.  While this isn’t exactly new territory for novels, it’s a subject that I hold pretty dear.  When I’ve had the unfortunate and ‘unsacred’ gift of dreaming of someone’s death, it’s actually as they’re dying.  I wouldn’t want to know about it before it happened.  That would be awful.  Dorsey’s novel begins with Sissy as a young child and immediately immerses you in her world.

Anyway, here is her post.  I hope you enjoy!

HOW IT ALL STARTED
By C.S. Dorsey

One day I thought to myself, I could write a book. Then I started laughing and told myself to get my head out of the clouds. I told my mom that I wanted to write a book. She looked at me like I lost my mind and kept washing clothes. I began writing words like I always do and never go back to it. I wrote one page and then I left it in my computer. I didn’t think that I would ever go back to the document until a couple of days later Sicily “Sissy” Monroe whispered in my ear.

Two days passed by and on July 18, 2010 someone started talking to me in my head. I thought for sure I needed to be admitted to the mental hospital. I was at work when the “voice” began speaking. I got out of my set and looked around to see if anyone was around. No one was there, so I sat back down. Then it spoke again. What is it? What do you want? I thought. Then the “voice” just started talking to me. So, I began to write everything down.

Hours later I wrote 4 chapters and I couldn’t stop. I went home to tell my mother about this voice that was talking to me. She didn’t look at me like I was crazy this time. I told her about the story and the plot.

“What should I call this book?” I asked her. She looked up at the ceiling thinking. We sat in silence for about ten minutes, and then she spoke. “How about The Unsacred Gift.” I stood in the middle of the living room floor thinking. “Uhmm…I like it!” Two and a half months later The Unsacred Gift was finished.

For the record I did not plan all of the characters out. Sissy just popped out of nowhere and made a name for herself. When I thought about her mother, Tina, I knew that I had to have a character that had a similar personally like my mother’s. Although the character is not exactly like my mother, they have the same interest like the Food Network and cooking.

Mark (which is Tina’s fiancée) is more laid back and has a loving heart. I didn’t want her mother to be alone, so I decided to add a male character. Sissy had no knowledge of Mark until she went back home, but sparks flared when she was giving the news about their engagement.

My co-worker read bits and pieces of the book as I was creating it. She said that Sissy needed some type of happiness, so that is when I created Chris. I didn’t know if I wanted to kill him off to make matters worse, or just have Sissy run him off herself. I guess you have to read the book to find out…LOL!

Then there is the Monroe family Tiyanne (Auntie), Tyler (Uncle), Grandma Monroe (Grandmother), and Heaven & Halo (cousins), whom you will meet at Granny’s birthday party in The Unsacred Gift.

If you’re interested in reading more or picking up a copy of Dorsey’s novel or other novels, here are her details.

Contact & Connect Information  CS Dorsey
Purchase the Book
About lacysereduk

Writer, reader, video game lover, and Batman.
This entry was posted in Guest Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guest Post – C.S. Dorsey “The Unsacred Gift”

  1. Pingback: Why would you want to creep yourself out? | THE DISCERNMENT SERIES

Leave a Reply

