How the Zombie Apocalypse was a Door for My Broken Heart or What I Learned from the Walking Dead

This was shared with me by a friend that found something she wanted me to see (well, that’s sort of obvious).  What is actually kind of ironic is that the exact episode of which the author speaks truly resonated with me as well.  “Here’s not here”.  Those are not the words I’ve spoken to myself out loud in a bad terror episode.  Those are not the exact thoughts I’ve had when trying to discern my whereabouts in the morning.  However, “Here’s not here” is the EXACT same truth of which I am trying to convince myself to reduce the terror and paranoia.  The most eloquent I could come up with is “I accidentally woke up in the wrong place”.

While my issue has nothing to do with a bad break up, I feel this woman’s words, her meaning, and it resonates with me in a way that I understand.  I’d just like to say to Girl with the Octopus Heart: you are not alone in having the zombie apocalypse change your life.  It gave me a different perspective and that particular episode actually made me cry so I watched it twice in hopes that I could better learn why.  So much can be learned about ourselves if we just listen to those willing to share.

Aforementioned post:
Sobbing through an episode of AMC’s The Walking Dead, I watched as the man I used to know and love as Drew Carey’s cross-dressing brother deliver a monologue about PTSD. I know, you’re already wond…

Source: How the Zombie Apocalypse was a Door for My Broken Heart or What I Learned from the Walking Dead

About lacysereduk

Writer, reader, video game lover, and Batman.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How the Zombie Apocalypse was a Door for My Broken Heart or What I Learned from the Walking Dead

  1. I’m also from Idaho. Maybe we Idahoans have an easier time digesting information when it’s cloaked in allegories of the Undead. As meaningful as that episode was to me, I was only able to watch it once. It was so painful that I found it easier to sear it in my brain by writing about it. Thank you for sharing as well as the introduction to your WP. I hope you find your door…

Leave a Reply

